Spend $50 and get 25% off plus free shipping | Use code 25FREESHIP.

Skip to content

2014-2015 POL Prize Winners

12th June 2015

We’re pleased to announce that Gregory Mahrer of Sebastopol, California is the winner of the POL Prize, selected by John Yau for A Provisional Map of the Lost Continent. Nancy K. Pearson of Frederick, Maryland is the winner of the Editor’s Prize for The Whole by Contemplation of a Single Bone. Their manuscripts will be published by Fordham University Press in Spring 2016.

Gregory Mahrer‘s work has been published in The New England Review, The Indiana Review, Green Mountains Review, Volt, Colorado Review, Hayden’s Ferry Review and elsewhere, as well as on the web sites Poetry Daily and Verse Daily. Several of his poems have been nominated for Pushcart Prizes. In 2014 one of those poems, “Refrain,” received a Puschart Special Mention. He lives and works in rural Northern California and Baja California Sur, Mexico.

Nancy K. Pearson’s first book of poems,Two Minutes of Light (Perugia Press, 2008), won a 2009 L.L. Winship/ PEN New England Award and was a 9th Annual Massachusetts Book Awards “Must Read Book.” Her work has been published in The Iowa Review, Oberon Poetry Magazine, and Alaska Quarterly Review among other publications. Winner of the 2014-2015 Inprint Donald Barthelme Prize in Poetry and Pushcart Prize nominee, Pearson has been a guest lecturer at Harvard University and is currently an Instructor at the University of Houston.


Finalists were:

J.L. Conrad, A World In Which
Purvi Shah, Miracle Marks
Jennifer Willoughby, Beautiful Zero
Michael Snediker, The New York Editions

Read more to find out who the Semi-finalists were…