Due to issues caused by COVID-19 and staffing at our distributor, book orders from our website are taking 10 to 15 days to be delivered. If you need your order sooner, please visit our retail partner links on each product page.

X
Skip to content

BOOK TOUR | Pure Act: The Uncommon Life of Robert Lax

12th August 2015

0 Comments


 

A companion piece to Thomas Merton’s bestselling autobiography The Seven Storey Mountain, Pure Act: The Uncommon Life of Robert Lax tells the story of Merton’s best friend and early spiritual inspiration. Written by a close friend of Lax, Pure Act gives an intimate view of a friendship and a life that affected Merton in profound ways. It was Lax, a daringly original poet himself, who encouraged Merton to begin writing poetry and Lax who told him he should desire to be a saint rather than just a Catholic. To the end of Merton’s life, Lax was his spiritual touchstone and closest friend.

Author Michael McGregor will be speaking across the country this fall. Check Michael’s website for the most up-to-date information.


Saturday, August 29
1 p.m. Lopez Library, Lopez Island, WA
Friday, September 4
6:30 p.m. Edmonds Bookshop, 111 5th Ave. S, Edmonds, WA
Saturday, September 5
6 p.m. Seattle Book Launch!
University Bookstore, 4326 University Way NE, Seattle, WA
Monday, September 14
5 p.m. Loyola University Maryland, Baltimore, MD
Sponsored by the Catholic Studies Program
Wednesday, September 16
6 p.m. New York Book Launch!
Fordham University, Lincoln Center, 12th Floor Lounge, Lowenstein Building, NYC
Thursday, September 17
7 p.m. Fairfield University Bookstore, Fairfield, CT
Co-sponsored by the Catholic Studies and Community and Lifetime Education Programs at Fairfield University
Friday, September 18
7:45 p.m. “The Wise Simplicity of Robert Lax,” Mary House, Catholic Worker, 55 E. 3rd, NYC
Saturday, September 19
2 p.m. International Thomas Merton Society Chapter
Corpus Christi Church, 529 W. 121st, NYC
Sunday, September 20
11 a.m. Book Signing, Fordham University Press booth, Brooklyn Book Festival, NY
Monday, September 21
7 p.m. In conversation with C.K. Williams and Richard Kostelanetz
McNally Jackson Books, 52 Prince St., NYC
Tuesday, September 22
7 p.m. Magers & Quinn Booksellers, 3038 Hennepin Ave., Minneapolis, MN
Thursday, September 24*
11:45 a.m. St. John’s University, MN
*Invitation only
Friday, September 25
4 p.m. “Transformed by Passionate Intent: The Life and Poetry of Robert Lax”
MacLaurinCSF, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN
Sunday, October 4
3 p.m. Elliott Bay Books, Seattle, WA
Co-sponsored by Image
Tuesday, October 6
6:30 p.m. University of Portland, Portland, OR
Co-sponsored by the Garaventa Center and the UP English Department
Monday, October 19
Malaprop’s Bookstore, Asheville, NC
Tuesday, October 20
7 p.m. Regulator Bookshop, Durham, NC
Wednesday, October 28
6 p.m. In conversation with Poetry editor Don Share
Seminary Co-op Bookstore, 5751 S. Woodlawn Ave., Chicago, IL,
Co-sponsored by The Point
Saturday, October 31
“The Language of Spiritual Literature in a Post-Religious Age,” panel presentation at the Transcending Orthodoxies Conference, Notre Dame University, South Bend, IN
Tuesday, November 3
4 p.m., Seattle University, Seattle, WA
Saturday, November 7
TBD-Wordstock, Portland Art Museum, Portland, OR
Thursday, November 19
Green Apple Books on the Park, 1231 9th Ave. San Francisco, CA

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: